In the Waiting: for my sister who longs for a child.

When I looked at the moon, as a young girl, I never saw the man. Instead, a baby – curled in her mother’s womb.

Softly, warmly.

moon 1

The miracle of life, unfolding and expanding. From a fleck of dust to a recognizable child – in just a few weeks’ time.

embryo

And baby grows.

lennart-nilsson-16

And grows.

lennart-nilsson-11

And grows.

lennart-nilsson-14

And through the pain of a mother, a child is born. Sometimes to love. Sometimes to crisis. Sometimes to unwant.

Then, the not-yet-mother – she whose arms do not know new life. But, oh! Her heart – how it knows, longs, loves her child.

As she watches, waits, prays,

Where is this child of mine, Lord?

Inside? Waiting for the right combination from her mother and father?

couple

Outside? Waiting for the rescue of his family?

haitian orphan

In another? Yet to be born from a woman who wants better for this child?

unplanned

~~~

These verses. I sung them to a melody. As I waited to be a mother, these words – burned into song:

Yet, I am confident that I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord. Psalm 27:13-14

Trust Him, my sister. New life you will know.

He gives the barren woman a home, making her the joyous mother of children. Praise the LORD! Psalm 113:9

*Black & White photo courtesy of Rowell Photography http://rowellphoto.com

10 thoughts on “In the Waiting: for my sister who longs for a child.

    1. Praying for you, Celia. You were one on my heart when I wrote this one.Your sweet son is whole now, but I know your heart is broken. You are honoring not only Jackson’s life, but your heavenly father, as well, by clinging to God in this time. I really am proud of you.

  1. I realized we were all blowing up your facebook page with comments and not posting them to your blog. Thank you Bre’anna for posting something so moving, so beautiful, and so needed. It always seems that God will find a way to pass along some much needed hope through the words of a friend. Stay blessed!

    1. No matter where the comments are made, it does my heart so good to see women (especially who don’t even know each other) connect and share through these posts. I pray for you, Sarah. God doesn’t let stories like yours go to waste. Love you!

  2. Thanks bre’anna, you’ve been a really great encouragement to me these last few month. You pick just the right words on just the right day it seems like :0) if you ever needed a reason to continue your blog, you can cling to the fact its helping at least 1 person sort through a difficult time.

  3. Thanks so much for this! I really needed this this week. I have been praying to God a lot lately on this. Its so funny how and where his answers come. He sends me comfort when I need it. Keep doing God’s work and touching us with everything you post! 🙂

  4. Thank you for including one of my images for illustration in your Poem/Story. Its very heart warming.. but could you please provide a link back to the source of the image of the black and white photo of the couple looking out to the water.. the link can read: Rowell Photography, and link to http://rowellphoto.com

    thanks in advance.

Leave a comment